Thursday, April 29, 2010

Curly Seckler to be Inducted into North Carolina Music Hall of Fame

The Board of Directors of the North Carolina Music Hall of Fame has selected bluegrass singer John Ray "Curly" Seckler to be an inductee in its Class of 2010. The induction ceremony will be conducted on Thursday, October 7, 2010 at the David H. Murdock Core Laboratory Building in Kannapolis, NC. The induction ceremony is open to the public. For ticket information contact the NCMHOF at: 704-934-2320.
The North Carolina Music Hall of Fame is located at 109 West A Street in Kannapolis. The museum is open to the public weekdays from 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM and 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM. Admission is free, however donations are accepted.
The North Carolina Music Hall of Fame, Inc. was incorporated as a nonprofit organization in the State of North Carolina in 1994 by Doug Croft of Thomasville. The primary purpose of the Corporation is to recognize, promote and commemorate the musical heritage of the State of North Carolina.

In 2008, Mike Curb, a California music executive, agreed to provide the North Carolina Music Hall of Fame a building in Kannapolis, NC for its museum. The principle office of the Organization was moved from Thomasville to Kannapolis.

The newly activated North Carolina Music Hall of Fame was officially opened on June, 1, 2009. The first Artists Induction Ceremony for the newly activated organization was on October 3, 2009. Inductees included Earl Scruggs, Randy Travis, James Taylor, Mike Curb, Roberta Flack, George Clinton, Ben E. King, Max Roach, Johnny Bristol, and Johnny Grant.

Current Board Members are: Bill Kopald, Chairman; Eddie Ray, Vice Chairman; Doug Croft; Joe Carroll; Linda Curb; Billy Scott; and James Whitley.

For more information you may visit: North Carolina Music Hall of Fame

Thursday, April 8, 2010


WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Senator Kay R. Hagan (D-NC) announced today that the Earl Scruggs Center in Cleveland County will receive a $1.5 million grant for renovations from the U.S. Department of Commerce's Economic Development Administration (EDA). The grant has been awarded to Destination Cleveland County, a non-profit organization committed to utilizing the county's history, music and heritage to promote tourism to the area.

"North Carolina is home to some of the country's greatest musical legends, and nowhere is this more evident than in Cleveland County-birthplace of Blue Grass Boy Earl Scruggs," Hagan said. "The renovated Center will attract tourists interested in learning about Scruggs and the entire area's rich musical history, thereby boosting the local economy and creating jobs."

The Center will honor hometown artists and capitalize on the region's musical heritage by displaying a variety of historical exhibits and providing public areas for music and storytelling performances. The renovated building will be energy efficient and registered for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification. The Center and The Don Gibson Theatre are the two significant catalyst projects developed by Destination Cleveland County.

"We are so appreciative that the EDA has recognized the Earl Scruggs Center as a development project for our economically distressed county and region," said Emily Epley, Executive Director for Destination Cleveland County. "A Gardner Webb University Godbold School of Business study estimates that the combined economic impact from The Scruggs Center and The Don Gibson Theatre will be $180 million over a 10-year period, creating 200-250 jobs for our county. I want to thank Senator Hagan and her staff for all the work they did in helping us to secure these important funds."